Super Bowl snacks

3 Feb

While we can’t top these buffalo chicken wing cupcakes, we can at least give you a trip down memory lane. Thanks Lori!

This Super Bowl Sunday, you can be a football heroine by having the gang over for a delicious “TV” supper of barbecued beef — it cooks quickly in a pressure cooker and feeds at least 10 hungry “teammates!”

The menu pairs barbecued beef, assorted rolls, a hot bean pot, citrus slaw and Brownie wiches

BBQ Beef
2 tbsp oil
boneless beef bottom round roast 3 to 4 lbs
1 large onion, thinkly sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 jar 18 oz barbecue sauce
1/2 cup water
optional: hickory seasoning liquid smoke
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp flour
3/4 cup cold water

Alternative cooking method:

To cook beef, simmer for 3 1/2 to 4 hours in oven until it is very tender. Transfer meat to a warmed platter.

Add brown sugar to drippings

Hot bean pot
In a 2-quart casserole dish, mix three 16 oz cans Boston baked beans, 2 tbsp chopped scallions, 2 tsp mustard, and 2 tsp Worchestershire sauce. Top with 3/4 cup shredded Cheddar, bake at 350 F for 20 minutes. Serves ten.

Citrus Slaw
In a large bowl, combine 4 cups shredded cabbage, 1 cup shredded carrots, 1/2 cup chopped onions, and 1 tablespoon celery seed. Next, make dressing: in a small bowl, combine 1 cup bottled creamy coleslaw dressing and 2 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed. Pour dressing over cabbage mixture; toss well. Serves ten.

3 Responses to “Super Bowl snacks”

  1. Lori February 3, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    🙂

  2. Nann from At Nann's Table February 7, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Hi Cherie…THANKYOU for commenting on my blog post about Day 7 of my twelve days of Christmas. No I didn’t get it from an old Seventeen magazine. My mother made cream puffs alot growing up and thats where I learned to make them. Was it in an old Seventeen magazine? I have made Swans for Weddings and showers for years. When I decided to do the Christmas Swans (which I actually made for Christmas 2010) I just decked them out for the season. I was so tickled how well they came out. And they are really easy and fun to do. I am so glad you liked them.

    This is the first time I’ve been to your blog and I love it. The old recipes are so much fun. Thanks again.

    Nann

    • Saucy Cherie February 8, 2012 at 4:53 am #

      Nann, your swans are adorable! I love your site. A commenter mentioned Seventeen magazine somewhere, so I assumed they were in an old issue. I will keep looking! Thanks for the great inspiration, and I will be reading, keep up the great work!

Leave a comment