Vintage Seventeen recipes

27 Nov


Attention Seveteen magazine recipe searchers: big things are happening. We are getting ready to post some of our 1980s pages, in all their big haired, scrunchy wearing glory.

We’ve already been gifted (many thanks!) with a long-sought after page from February 1987:


One From the Heart: chicken parmesan, sausage-stuffed mushrooms, green beans vinaigrette, Italian bread and sweetheart ice cream dessert.

CHICKEN PARMESAN
4 pieces skinned, boned and split chicken breasts (about 1 pound)
3/4 cup plain bread crumbs
3/4 tsp dry basil
1/4 tsp dry oregano
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 egg, lightly beaten
olive oil
1 1/2 cups spaghetti sauce, divided
1/2 package (8 oz) mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

1. Spread a chicken cutlet out flat between two pieces of waxed paper. Using a mallet or rolling pin, pound cutlet until it’s 1/4 inch thick. Do the same with the remaining cutlets.
2. In a shallow bowl, combine bread crumbs, basil, oregano, salt and pepper. Place beaten egg in another shallow bowl.
Dip each cultlet in beaten egg, turning to coat lightly, set aside.
3. In a large skillet, heat 3 tablespoons olive oil. Add cultlets and cook over medium heat for 3 to 4 minutes on each side, until golden. Add more oil, one tablespoon at a time, as needed.
Remove from skillet, and set aside.
Preheat ove to 350 F. Pour 1 cup spaghetti sauce into the bottom of a baking dish. Arrange cutlets in dish one layer deep. Pour remaining spaghetti sauce over cutlets. Top with mozzarella slices, and sprinkle on parmesan cheese. Bake for 20 minutes. Serves two.

7 Responses to “Vintage Seventeen recipes”

  1. Kelly C. January 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Oh my goodness! This is the recipe!!!!!!!! I’m actually sitting here, with tears in my eyes! 🙂
    All these years! I’ve been transported right back into my mother’s kitchen, nervously preparing this for my boyfriend. wow! 🙂

    I see the chicken parm recipe is re-printed below it. Is there a place to find the stuffed mushrooms, and the green bean recipes too? It’s fuzzy on the picture of the actual magazine page. I think I can make out the ingredients, but, I’m not able to read the instructions clearly. Thinking back, I could wing-it, but, it would be fantastic to have it all right. Thank you sooooo much! 🙂

    • Saucy Cherie January 10, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Hi Kelly,

      So glad we finally connected. I’ve been seeing your old posts for years!
      We have the venerable Lori to thank for these recent Seventeen pages. She’s the best!

      I will email you the stuffed mushroom and green bean recipes.

      Do you happen to have any other Seventeen pages or recipes for us?

      • Kelly C. January 10, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

        I’m glad too! 🙂 I will eagerly await your email regarding the mushrooms and green beans-Thank you, from the bottom of my heart! I have tried for many years to find these recipes-wow!
        I do have a few recipes from Seventeen, and would love to share them. I’m recalling some Christmas candy ones: “Goober Chocolates,” and a Halloween-themed party menu. The pictures of the people attending ‘the party’ were like ’80’s Madonna, and so forth. I will have to locate the cookbook/binder that I have all those treasures stuffed into, and get them on here. Soo excited! 🙂

  2. Saucy Cherie January 10, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Perfect! Join our cult! 🙂

  3. mary February 11, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Looking for the giant chocolate sandwich cookie recipe that appeared in Seventeen magazine in the late 70’s. Made them for my then boyfriend for his birthday. I lost the recipe and my family won’t forgive me.

  4. Kristina January 13, 2015 at 4:57 am #

    Thank you so much for posting! This was one of the first recipes I mastered when I in high school and it became my special go to recipe for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

