The birth of Now You’re Cooking

19 Aug

We are quite astonished that our wee recipe blog has attracted so many 1980s Seventeen Magazine recipe searchers.

We love that our most popular post, Vintage Recipe Searchers, continues generating public requests and creating a community of retro recipe sharers.

So we are keen to share another fun discovery we made while idly googling for lost recipes: Now You’re Cooking first appeared in the February 1978 issue! We have yet to find the page (that was more than a few years before we started reading).

If you have a copy, please share a scan with us!
39dd4af95aed67b548b16c17f0a9fb17

5 Responses to “The birth of Now You’re Cooking”

  1. Linda Olizarowicz March 17, 2016 at 1:54 pm #

    Hello! Back in the early 80’s I, too, was a Seventeen magazine reader and fledgling cook and recipe collector. Seventeen’s “Chicken Cordon Bleu” was the very first fancy meal that I ever prepared and I am pleased to say that I have the actual page out of the magazine which shows this coveted recipe (the recipe does indeed include ham). I would be happy to send you a pdf of the recipe page from the magazine; just let me know where I can e-mail to you. I also have at least a dozen or so other “Now You’re Cooking” recipe pages – including the “Nacho Casserole” from November 1982 which I just prepared the other night. Ah – happy childhood memories! ; )

  2. tj June 20, 2016 at 11:50 am #

    I was a senior in High School, an avid subscriber and budding cook when the Now You’re Cooking section started in 1978! I loved it. Started cutting out recipes and trying many of them. I’m now 56 years old and finally throwing away most of my paper recipes but I’ve started saving them on my http://www.tjtalks.wordpress.com site since many are hard to find. I have a very special section I save because I used the recipes to host a Mother’s Day brunch (I was 18 or 19 yrs old) for my mom and my two grandmothers called “It’s a Bloomin Party!” I will share the photos and recipes on blog site when I get a chance. It was fun finding you. It has been hard to throw these memories away, but paper’s gotta go!

Leave a Reply

