Pieathalon: Prune Whip Edition

8 Jun

prunewhip1

What. The. Eff. Is. Prune. Whip?

The WASPy among us will feel some familiarity with this beige concoction. The rest? Well, it will take some convincing.

When I saw my Pieathalon assignment, I felt instant familiarity: my childhood Charlie Brown lunchbox cookbook had a recipe for prune whip. I knew what I was in for.

But although Betty Crocker circa 1975 had a hand in this version (hello miniature marshmallows and instant coffee) I was nervous.

And I’ll be honest, one look at this refrigerator pie and my hubby recoiled.

“Is that turd pie?”
turd pie

For the record, the recipe ticks the vintage boxes: prunewhip2 prune whip is indeed a thing, although typically a meringue-type mix with egg whites. Betty Crocker has no time for that fussiness: just cook up those mini marshmallows and let’s get this thing in the fridge.

I did like the coffee flavour, but it was sickly sweet. The cinnamon pie pastry was a nice treat though, and smelled heavenly.

Laughably, there is no way to dress up this prune pie: it is what it is – a harbinger of what’s coming from your intestines.

But don’t let us put you off the retro pie train: check out these amazing bloggers!

Happy pie eating, folks!
2ndannual

18 Responses to “Pieathalon: Prune Whip Edition”

  1. S. S. June 8, 2015 at 9:45 am #

    That actually looks pretty good! Did all that business with marshmallows actually save any time?

    • Saucy Cherie June 8, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

      Yes, melting marshmallows is much faster than whipping egg whites and baking them. But.So.Sweet!

  2. kalamitykelli June 8, 2015 at 2:26 pm #

    You did a lovely job! I love the taste of prunes and I think I may be trying this one soon – it looks good to me!

    • Saucy Cherie June 8, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

      Thanks Kelli! I think they may make better tarts than a whole slice of pie. Very pruney, though!

  3. Jayne Adler June 8, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

    my mom has the exact same recipe and made prune whip when I was a kid but never in pie form, we just ate it like pudding, it is delicious!

    • Saucy Cherie June 8, 2015 at 3:53 pm #

      Jayne, same here: I’d only ever seen it referenced as a pudding. Oh well!

  4. Heather June 8, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    Prunes are way more awesome that they get credit for! But, photogenic they are not.

    • Saucy Cherie June 8, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

      True!

  5. Velveteen Lounge Kitsch-en June 8, 2015 at 9:28 pm #

    Yours looks better than the original!

    • Saucy Cherie June 8, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

      You are too kind!

  6. Bobb Robinson June 8, 2015 at 11:54 pm #

    My mother would be all over this – very reminiscent of her “Plum Fun Cake” which uses baby food :/

  7. Poppy Crocker June 9, 2015 at 1:38 pm #

    Prunes were indeed a very big thing for a while. I’ve even seen a recipe for a prune milk shake. I don’t think that’s a flavor the world was exactly crying out for…

    • Jenny Hammerton June 10, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

      Mmmmm – prunes! I love ’em. The thought of marshmallows instead of whipped egg whites makes my teeth hurt though…

  8. Sharon June 30, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

    Saucy,
    I have three original recipes from Seventeen Magazine: Chicken Cordon Bleu, Seafood Chowder and Lasagna Rolls. They scanned beautifully and are quite legible. Saucy, please send me an address to which I can email them. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. White Christmas Pie for the 2nd Annual Pieathalon - Kelli's Kitchen - June 8, 2015

    […] Saucy Cherie at cookbookcherie.wordpress.com – Prune Whip Pie […]

  2. Lookit! I’m A Pieathlete! | Vintage Recipe Cards - June 8, 2015

    […] that I was a bit mean spirited in my submission as I sent in Prune Whip Pie. I’m pretty sure the blogger who got my recipe was horrified to discover such a thing […]

  3. Cheese Pie, 1930 – Second Annual Pieathalon Challenge! - The Mid-Century Menu - June 8, 2015

    […] Saucy Cherie at cookbookcherie.wordpress.com made Prune Whip Pie! […]

  4. Pieathalon! | Yesterday's Menus - June 8, 2015

    […] Saucy Cherie: Prune Whip Pie […]

Leave a Reply

