Vincent Price Cookalong!

4 Nov

IMG_0448

Halloween time or not, there’s little more terrifying than liver.

We kid, we kid.

This 1970s chicken liver risotto recipe from Vincent Price — courtesy of Jenny from Silver Screen Suppers — is more treat than trick.

VPH Cookalong

My mother armed her cooking arsenal with Vincent Price recipes early and — lucky us — his Yorkshire pudding, Quiche Lorraine and Sweet Mouthful (Boccone Dolce) remain in heavy rotation.

When Jenny announced her Vincent Price Halloween Cookalong, I was keen to take part in the virtual reality potluck party because I am a Halloween freak, and I knew the recipes were going to be solid.

She assigned me this recipe for Chicken Liver Risotto from Cooking Price-Wise:Chicken Liver Risotto-2 pic

When I first saw the bacon, chicken livers, onions, mushrooms, and cheese, the flavours made me think of autumn. How woodsy and fitting for Halloween. If there was a killer lurking nearby, even better.

Price’s recipe is brief: there are no fussy risotto instructions warning that you’ll fail if you aren’t simmering your stock in a nearby pot, or that you’ll end up with a sticky clump of something resembling risotto if you don’t add slowly as each ladleful evaporates.

No matter. It works. I’ll admit I was frightened the bacon fat is never drained, but I got over it when saw the glistening grains of rice coated in that swirling sheen of fat.

If you are a chicken liver hater, you could leave them out and enjoy a bacon mushroom risotto, but in truth the livers break down and impart an earthy flavour that really gives the dish body.

IMG_0444

This is a creamy, rich risotto and perfect as it is. I was so tempted to add a splash of brandy to the livers, or a glug of white wine as I usually do as I’m stirring the rice constantly. But I’m glad I made it as written.

Thanks Jenny for your deliciously demented idea and letting me play along, and kudos global potluckers — I’m loving your blogs!

Here are links for your enjoyment:

Michael of Michael MacMahon – Chicken in Vermouth
Cathy of Battenburg Belle also made the Pumpkin Pie
Ruth of Mid Century Menu also made version 2 of Vincent’s Bloody Mary and his Pumpkin Pie

29 Responses to “Vincent Price Cookalong!”

  1. glamorous glutton November 4, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    It was a deliciously demented idea but then that is Jenny all over! Your dish sounds fab. GG

    • SaucyCherie November 4, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      Thanks GG! It was an amazingly creamy and rich risotto. Well worth it!

  2. Helen November 4, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Your meal looks lovely.

    • SaucyCherie November 4, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

      Thanks Helen, I was lucky — no scary beef heart! I think I might try your mushrooms, they look really good!

  3. Jenny November 4, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Saucy Cherie – this looks utterly GORGEOUS. Mmmm – your photos are making me drool. I’ve just nipped over to see your Boccone Dolce too – OMG that looks utterly divine.

    Thanks for participating in the “deliciously demented” challenge. It was so much fun and I just know that Vincent would approve of us all attempting his wonderful recipes and enjoying them to the max. He loved to share his expertise and really wanted cooks to enjoy the cooking experience as well as the food and I think the Halloween Cookalong has really shown that for us – it is so!

    Glad to have met you – albeit via virtual reality – and hope to be involved some other fabulous food challenge with you sometime soon! Jenny x

    • SaucyCherie November 4, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      I urge everyone to give the Boccone Dolce a go — it is so delicious. Jenny, I’m sensing a romantic Valentine’s Day Love You to Death project a la Vincent Price! Har. Round 2!

  4. Bittersweet Susie November 4, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    I don’t do LIVERS but this makes me want to throw caution to the wind and also cause BACON.

    • SaucyCherie November 4, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      Susie, I’m sure you can skip the livers. There is so much flavour with the bacon and mushrooms. I was really lucky to get this and not CLAMS!

      • Bittersweet Susie November 4, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

        DEVILED CLAMS – DUH DUH DUhhhhhhhnnnnnn

  5. Carol November 4, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I actually like chicken livers and man this looks good! I think I need to add this one to my list too!

    • SaucyCherie November 4, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      You will not be disappointed!

  6. Lauren Hairston November 4, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    My husband loves chicken livers, but I don’t make them as often as I really ought to (they’re so nutritious!) because I don’t have that many different recipes for them. I do make Vincent Price’s bolognese with chicken livers, which is excellent.

    I grew up with Vincent Price’s recipes, too. My parents had a copy of Treasury of Great Recipes and made Caesar salad A LOT.

    • SaucyCherie November 4, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

      Oh, I will have to try the bolognese. Are we lucky our moms cooked those recipes!

  7. Sally November 5, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    “Deliciously demented” – I think you’ve come up with next year’s theme!

  8. No Pattern Required (@RetroRuth) November 6, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    This looks really amazing! I can’t want to try this one, WITH the livers! 🙂

    • SaucyCherie November 6, 2013 at 3:48 am #

      You won’t be disappointed!

  9. Jen November 6, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    Oh, this looks and sounds delicious, yes, with the livers!

    • battenburgbelle November 7, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      I am one of the ones who is scared of livers – but you are making me wonder if I should give it a go. I was delighted when I got the deviled shrimps to do!

      • SaucyCherie November 7, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

        Your shrimp look divine!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Vincent Price Halloween Cookalong: Beef Heart Stewed | Dinner is Served 1972 - November 4, 2013

    […] Calf’s Liver Marinee Helen of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire Cherie of Saucy Cherie –Chicken Liver […]

  2. Vincent Price COOKALONG | Bitter Sweet Susie - November 4, 2013

    […] Vermouth Helen of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire Saucy Cherie – Liver Risotto A couple of extras… Cathy of Battenburg Belle also made the Pumpkin Pie Ruth of Mid Century Menu […]

  3. Vincent Price Halloween Cookalong | Silver Screen Suppers - November 4, 2013

    […] of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire Cherie of Saucy Cherie – Chicken Liver Risotto A couple of extras… Cathy of Battenburg Belle also made the Pumpkin Pie Ruth of Mid Century […]

  4. Vincent Price Halloween Cookalong Deviled Crab! » Craftypants Carol - November 4, 2013

    […] Cathy of Battenburg Belle – Deviled Shrimp and Rice Sally of My Custard Pie – Deviled Rib Bones Ruth of Mid Century Menu – Unwealthy Wellington Angela of Glamorous Glutton – Steak Moutarde Flambe Lauren of The Past on a Plate – Ayrshire Poacher’s Roll Mimi of The Retro WW Experiment – Chinese Chicken Erica of Retrorecipe – Cucumber Crocodile and Melon Monster  Susie of Bittersweet Susie – Carolina Deviled Clams Lisa of Beyond the Fringes – Calf’s Liver Marine Michael of Michael MacMahon – Chicken in Vermouth Helen of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire Saucy Cherie – Chicken Liver Risotto […]

  5. Vincent Price Halloween Cookalong ROCKED! | Vincentennial Cookblog - November 4, 2013

    […] Helen of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire […]

  6. Devilled rib bones for a Vincent Price Halloween cookalong | My Custard Pie - November 5, 2013

    […] and Melon Monster, Beyond the Fringes  – Calves liver Marinee , Saucy Cherry – Chicken liver risotto and  Bittersweet Susie – Carolina Deviled Clams. Jenny from Silver Screen Suppers made Bloody […]

  7. Vincent Price Cookalong – an Update | battenburgbelle - November 5, 2013

    […] Helen of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire Cherie of Saucy Cherie – Chicken Liver Risotto Ruth of Mid Century Menu also made version 2 of Vincent’s Bloody Mary and his Pumpkin Pie   […]

  8. The Vincent Price Halloween Cookalong Round-up – Beef Heart, Lots of Liver and Tons of Halloween Terror! - November 6, 2013

    […] Chicken Liver Risotto – Saucy Cherie […]

  9. Vincent Price Cookalong – an Update | battenburgbelle.com - February 11, 2014

    […] Helen of Zelda’s Secrets – Champignons Grilles Marie Victoire Cherie of Saucy Cherie – Chicken Liver Risotto Ruth of Mid Century Menu also made version 2 of Vincent’s Bloody Mary and his Pumpkin Pie   […]

  10. Gothic Gourmet’s Greatest Hits | Saucy Cherie - October 2, 2014

    […] Vincent Price Cookalong: our small role in the global potluck, hosted by Jenny at Silver Screen Suppers. Spoiler alert: it’s chicken liver risotto. Horror’dourves: Rather than gross-out grub, food that honours the season. Butternut squash rice paper rolls with spicy cran dipping sauce. […]

Leave a comment